Nutrition 101

I took a break from analyzing food records (not my favorite thing, but definitely a needed skill) to go teach a nutrition lesson with another intern to a group a high school students today. It was kind of an introductory lesson, just going over the basic food groups, macronutrients (fat, protein and carbs) and vitamins and minerals. Surprisingly most of them paid attention and did really well on our review quiz and questions. The best part, however, was the open discussion after the lesson was over. We asked if anyone had any nutrition related questions about anything they had heard. One girl actually asked about fiber supplements related to weight loss. I guess fiber is a hot topic these days! I definitely advised her against taking them and looking to natural food sources (fruits, vegetables and whole grains) rather than taking a pill or powder. Teenage girls are especially susceptible to developing unhealthy eating behaviors based on things they’ve heard so I was happy to have the chance to steer her away from that. Overall, I’d say the lesson was a success. Now I just have to finish working my way through these food records….

4 responses to “Nutrition 101

  1. Hi, I just found your blog! I really enjoy reading about your internship – it’s very interesting!

    Glad the lesson went well 🙂

  2. I’m glad people are reading it :o) Thanks for the motivation!

  3. I’m new to the blog as well, but I wanted to issue a big thank you for doing anything nutrion related with high schoolers. I’m a teacher and the loss of health classes is unbelievibly sad.

  4. Great information you’re providing here – keep it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

